All the Small Things

This past week in Public Relations in Agriculture, we had the chance to talk with Judi Graff.  Judi, is a well-known blogger whose motto is “farm blogger helping farmers blog”. That is exactly what she did! She came to our class and gave us a presentation over why it is important for framers to blog on top of their operations.  She had really interesting statistics that proved the gain in business for farmers who blog about their work.  I will share a couple of these staggering statistics. “Companies that have a blog generate 55% more website traffic“.  The stat that blew my mind was, “business to business companies who blog have 88% more leads per month”.

Although, this part of our class was interesting the more effective part was her critiquing our blogs! There were so many things that I was doing slightly wrong from the beginning. She assured me that my blog was good and that they were just beginner blogging mistakes.  I will share the three most helpful tips for me.

1.      Breaking up the text

-This helps the reader by not having everything jumbled up and in the same size font.

2.      Moving/Have Photos

-This makes your blog more visually stimulating to the readers and also gives the viewer an example if they do not know what you are talking about.

3.      5 Blog  Must Haves

-Tagline: Keep it short and to point

-About Me: Explain your purpose

-Contact: Get a contact tab that contains information to make it easy for people to interact with you

-Call to Action: Be sure to talk up your blog and ask people to follow it

-Fast Load Time: you want to have small file size so the pictures on your site load fast (100-300Kb is recommended)

These were just the three tips that I found to be most helpful in my case.  You can check out her blog for more tips at http://farmnwife.com/.  Also after she helped me I gained  7 new followers.

Let me know what you favorite tips are, or if you have any more for me to improve my blog!

One thought on “All the Small Things

  1. I think this is great information that I did not remember from when Mrs. Graff came to talk to us. I think that you are right when you say you need to break up your text so it is easier for your readers to read. I also like how you have that we need to have a fast load time for pictures, because you want to keep the reader interested in what you are saying. I also like how you have some statistics from what she said in class. Thanks for putting this out for others to see what Mrs. Graff said about blogging and why it is good for businesses.

Leave a Reply

